International, English-taught MA course

The conservation / restoration department was founded in 1994 as an independent diploma course. The main areas of study offered since then have been: “Archaeological cultural assets and handicraft objects”, “Stained Glass and Objects made of Glass”, “Mosaic”, “Stone Scultpures and Architecture”, “Technical Cultural Assets” and “Wall Painting and Architectural Polychromy”. Our renowned scientific laboratory is known far beyond the borders of Thuringia and Germany.

Since its inception, the Conservation and Restoration program had successfully trained qualified restorers for over thirteen years. As part of the Bologna process, the range of courses was restructured, leading to the subject offering a consecutive Bachelor's and Master's Degree from 2007.

After 25 years of successful training of restorers on a national level, the department had planned to move on to the international stage. That is why, on behalf of the university management, the department began to design the concept of an international Master course in 2017, which represented a consistent further development of what had been successfully built up over the past few years. For this purpose, it was also possible to fall back on our good experience with international students.

After detailed discussion of various models, taking into account the given potential as well as the situation on the education and labour market in Germany and in an international context, the Conservation and Restoration department had a concept for an international English-taught Master of Arts in Preservation and Heritage Management (MA PHM) presented with the focus on restoration in the preservation of historical monuments.

The concept was unanimously approved by the academic committee for the subject on April 28, 2021, but rejected by the Faculty Council of the Faculty of Civil Engineering and Conservation / Restoration on June 21, 2021 for capacity reasons. The concept could therefore not be discussed in the Senate of the University of Applied Sciences.

Concept for the international, English-taught Master of Arts in Preservation and Heritage Management (MA PHM) in the field of conservation and restoration at the University of Applied Sciences Erfurt, as presented to the committees of the University of Applied Sciences Erfurt:

Additional information

Back to the home page

    • Lecture plan for the summer semester 2022 (as of December 8th, 2021)
       
    • Your studies at Department of Conservation and Restoration (module manuals, Academic Procedures and Regulations RPO, program-specific regulations SSB)
       
    • Exam-related information and forms
       
    • Semester dates of the University of Applied Sciences
       
    • Current events and news from the University of Applied Sciences

    The login area (at the top right of the website) will take you to:

    • Final Theses
       
    • Scientific documentary work
    • Archaeological heritage and handicraft objects
       
    • Painted surfaces
       
    • Stained glass and objects made of glass
       
    • Mosaics
       
    • Sculptural artwork and architecture made of stone
       
    • Wall painting and architectural facades

Current changes in opening hours

The department will be closed on September 19th, 2022.

Opening hours

   For the department:    Mon. - Thur.  8:00 am - 5:30 pm
                                       Fri.  8:00 am - 4:00 pm
 
   

   For the secretary's office:    Mon. - Wed. 8:00 am - 02:30 pm
                                               Thur.  07:30 am - 03:30 pm, Homeoffice
                                               Fri.  07:30 am - 12:30 am, Homeoffice

Navigation überspringen

Internationaler, englischsprachiger MA-Studiengang

Die Fachrichtung Konservierung/Restaurierung wurde 1994 als eigenständiger Diplomstudiengang gegründet. Die seither angebotenen Studienschwerpunkte waren: „Archäologisches Kulturgut und kunsthandwerkliche Objekte“, „Glasmalerei und Objekte aus Glas“, „Mosaik“ „Plastisches Bildwerk und Architektur aus Stein“, „Technisches Kulturgut“ und „Wandmalerei und Architekturfassung“. Das renommierte naturwissenschaftliche Labor ist weit über die Grenzen Thüringens und Deutschlands bekannt.

Seit seiner Gründung hatte der Studiengang Konservierung und Restaurierung über dreizehn Jahre lang erfolgreich Diplomrestauratorinnen und -restauratoren ausgebildet. Im Rahmen des Bologna-Prozesses erfolgte eine Neustrukturierung des Lehrangebots, mit dem die Fachrichtung seit 2007 einen konsekutiven Bachelor- und Masterstudiengang anbot.

Nach 25 Jahren erfolgreicher Ausbildung von Restauratoren und Restauratorinnen im nationalen Rahmen hatte die Fachrichtung geplant, sich nunmehr auf das internationale Parkett zu begeben. Deshalb hatte das Kollegium der Fachrichtung im Auftrag der Hochschulleitung im Jahre 2017 damit begonnen, das Konzept eines internationalen Masterstudienganges zu entwerfen, der eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung dessen darstellte, was in den zurückliegenden Jahren erfolgreich aufgebaut worden war. Dafür konnte auch auf die guten Erfahrungen mit Studierenden aus dem Ausland zurückgegriffen werden.  

Nach eingehender Erörterung verschiedener Modelle unter Berücksichtigung der gegebenen Potentiale sowie der Situation auf dem Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarkt in Deutschland und im internationalen Kontext hatte die Fachrichtung Konservierung und Restaurierung ein Konzept für einen internationalen englischsprachigen Studiengang Master of Arts in Preservation and Heritage Management (MA PHM) mit dem fachlichen Schwerpunkt Restaurierung in der Baudenkmalpflege vorgelegt.

Das Konzept wurde am 28.04.2021 von der Studienkommission der Fachrichtung einstimmig verabschiedet, jedoch am 21.06.2021 vom Fakultätsrat der Fakultät Bauingenieurwesen und Konservierung/Restaurierung aus kapazitiven Gründen abgelehnt. Das Konzept konnte damit nicht im Senat der Fachhochschule erörtert werden.

Konzept für den internationalen, englischsprachigen Master of Arts in Preservation and Heritage Management (MA PHM) an der Fachrichtung Konservierung und Restaurierung der Fachhochschule Erfurt, wie es den Gremien der Fachhochschule Erfurt vorlag:

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Zurück zur Startseite

Post- und Besucheranschrift

Fachhochschule Erfurt
Fachrichtung Konservierung und Restaurierung
Altonaer Straße 25
99085 Erfurt

Fachschaftsvertretung

Die Fachschaft ist unter ihren perönlichen E-Mail Adressen:
Gunreben, Luisa eMail; Hauke, Cora eMail; Zeulner, Julia eMail
und unter  fskr@fh-erfurt.de zu erreichen.
Während der Vorlesungszeit nach vorheriger Terminabsprache im Raum 1.2.27
und während der Projektwochen täglich in den Werkstätten der Fachrichtung
oder auch auf  Facebook .

Telefon, Fax, eMail und Webseite

Telefon des Sekretariates:     +49 361 6700-761
Fax der Fachrichtung:              +49 361 6700-717
E-Mail:                          sekretariat-frkr@fh-erfurt.de
Webseite:                    www.fh-erfurt.de/kr/fr-k-r/

Förderverein der FR K&R

Frau Ute Edda Hammer
Kulturstiftung des Freistaats Thüringen
Hauptmarkt 40
99867 Gotha

Kontakt (Vorsitzende): eMail