1. You are here:
  2. XR-Part

XR-Part

XR-Participation Spaces for Expanded Social Participation in Urban Transformation Processes

Involving citizens and widening participation in urban planning processes with the support of XR technologies

Social participation in urban transformation processes already takes place in many municipalities through cross-media participation offerings. However, despite the diverse channels offered by cross-media, many people are still excluded from participation or are not sufficiently reached. Analog or online participation spaces are either perceived as not attractive and accessible enough or as too fragile. In cooperation with various social actors, XR-Part is intended to break these previous spatial-temporal and medial disruptions. By linking previously isolated interaction possibilities, a qualitative further development of citizen participation is to be realized. The transdisciplinary collaborative research project XR-Part is developing an integrative XR system of different VR and AR solutions into a common XR platform (XR: Extended Reality) that can be applied in participatory planning processes. In the context of urban planning processes, this innovative approach is being evaluated in the model cities of Rostock and Mannheim.

Funding provider: Third-party funded research project of the Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Project sponsor: VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH

Duration: 09.2021 to 09.2024

In the future with XR technologies

Integrate innovations in participation

The challenge: Exploiting the potential of VR and AR technologies for qualities of participation while taking ethical, legal, and social aspects into account.

About the project

In the collaborative research project XR-Part, both technical and process innovations for social participation are being further developed, interlinked, tested and evaluated.
 
 XR-Part combines various virtual and augmented reality solutions in an extended reality (XR) platform into a system consisting of three components: (1) a three-dimensional virtual experience and encounter space for temporary collaborative events at arbitrary times, (2) an augmented reality application in which planning content can be viewed three-dimensionally in variants, and (3) an online participation tool to support on-site participation. Planning and information on urban transformation projects thus become accessible for a wide dialogical exchange, independent of time and place. The XR system is being developed cooperatively along concrete urban planning processes with the model cities of Mannheim and Rostock as well as with the tandem cities of Bonn and Cologne. XR-Part is to be made accessible for participatory urban planning processes in municipalities.

Aims and approach of the research project XR-Part

Within the framework of the research project, innovative XR (extended reality) participation spaces are to be developed, which quantitatively and qualitatively improve social participation in social decision-making processes and can be integrated into cross-media participatory procedures for urban planning projects.

The following approach is intended: The XR system will be designed, developed, tested and evaluated using the example of several concrete urban participatory processes in a user-centered, interactive development process. Processes of modern urban planning as well as software and hardware development follow an iterative process in which work steps of conception, development, testing and evaluation are passed through several times. The collaborative research project XR-Part hence follows such an iterative process.
 
At the beginning of the process, the current state of science and technology of the disciplines involved is reviewed, categorized and prepared for the further work. The subsequent work stages of designing and developing the technical XR solutions will run simultaneously with the participatory development of user-centered quality standards for digitally supported citizen participation. A central aspect will be the regular discussion within the project team on requirements and solutions for technical and process-related solutions. At the end of this work stage, a first prototype of the XR platform and quality benchmarks for sustainable digital citizen participation will be developed.

In the next stage, these solutions will be tested and evaluated in terms of their usability and added value for citizen participation on the basis of concrete planning projects in the cities of Mannheim and Rostock. The solutions will be tested twice in each model city on the basis of participatory planning processes. This will allow the solutions developed to be adapted to actual needs in the context of urban participation processes. The goal is to evaluate the prototypes of the previous work phase, to continuously improve them and finally to develop an applicable solution.

The framing project coordination as well as the transfer of knowledge into science and practice represent further work packages.

Innovation approach of the project

The innovation approach of the project is based on an integrative consideration of human-technology interaction in virtual and real spaces. Technical solutions of XR are to be (further) developed, interrelated and finally made available for participation in urban planning processes and tested in an integrated way on the basis of concrete planning projects.

At the center of the planned developments is a hardware and software platform that will enable information acquisition, visualization, communication and cooperation as well as the testing of planning urban transformation processes in spatiotemporal independence. The aim is to develop the XR platform as a web-based solution in order to counteract the digital separation of user groups through easy accessibility. XR technologies offer ideal conditions to:

  1. bring people together and

  2. to present planning for a real urban space on local level - i.e. in the context and the living environment of the citizens - in a comprehensible way and to develop it together.

The XR platform therefore integrates two types within the established reality-virtuality continuum:

  1. Augmented Virtuality: People interact with each other in virtual spaces.

  2. Augmented Reality: Virtual objects ( here especially: buildings, street furniture, streets, trees) can be experienced in real urban space.

Interaction in virtual spaces (augmented virtuality) is supposed to be accessible from any physical location with the user's own device. Virtual spaces aim to increase the number of participants in collaborative environments, develop new participation formats in virtual spaces, integrate complex planning content, create new forms of visualization and interaction, and make the technology easy and enjoyable to use for diverse target groups.

In the augmented reality approach, urban planning is meant to be experienced in physical space by persistently locating digital elements in space. These elements can be visualizations of planning drafts of the administrations or digital objects previously created in virtual spaces. They should not be perceived as part of the technical device, but as an element of the physical space.

With these solutions, it is intended to be possible to address target groups that were previously hardly reached or unreached in planning processes, to make visions and ideas of spatial changes tangible and illustrative, to simplify experimentation in space, and finally to enable sustainable learning processes.

Task Fields

Tasks of the joint research project XR-Part are:

  • Development of new findings on the application of XR technologies in participation processes

  • Improving the involvement of the widest possible range of population groups in urban transformation processes by applying the developed XR-Participation platform

  • Development and transfer of applicable evaluation findings for a technologically-based expansion of participation practice in urban planning processes in science and practice.

Scientific contributions

  • Development of a requirements catalog for the XR participation platform
    With the existing guidelines for citizen participation of the model and tandem cities, Mannheim and Rostock as well as Bonn and Cologne, the quality standards and user-oriented requirements for the XR platform will be further defined.
     
  • Development, testing and evaluation of the XR participation platform based on case studies in the model cities Mannheim and Rostock
    The developed XR platform will be evaluated and further qualified on the basis of selected participatory urban planning processes. With the help of qualitative and quantitative methods, the perspectives of the users will be recorded and evaluated, among other things with regard to potentials and limitations of social interactions and collaborations in and with XR technologies. In addition, new insights into the improved participation of citizens in urban planning processes and the identification of innovative interaction possibilities are expected.
     
  • Transfer to science and practice
    The approaches developed will be made available to the participating cities for further testing. In addition, a national conference will be organized to transfer knowledge and experience to interested cities and other interested stakeholders from science and practice.

Science project team

University of Applied Science Erfurt

Network coordination and project management

Prof.in Dr.-Ing. Heidi Sinning

Institutsleiterin Institut für Stadtforschung, Planung und Kommunikation (ISP)

+49 (0) 361 6700-4480sinning@fh-erfurt.de Altonaer Straße, Schlüterstraße | 12.1.16 (Altonaer Straße), 103 Schlüterstraße
Profile
Sub-project management

Prof. Yvonne Brandenburger

Professor of Architectural Planning and Design

Profile
Sub-project management

Prof. Rolf Kruse

Professor of Digital Media and Design

+49 361 6700-5532rolf.kruse@fh-erfurt.de Altonaer Straße | 4.2.14
Profile
Research Associate

Sebastian Damek

+49 361 6700-4532sebastian.damek@fh-erfurt.de Schlüterstraße 1 | Raum 406
Profile

Project partner

Science

  • TriCAT GmbH
    Dr. Gregor Mehlmann
    (Sub-project management)

    Markus Herkersdorf
    Felix Gaisbauer
    Lena Schuler 
     
  • Zebralog GmbH 
    Dr. Sarah Ginski (contact)
    (Sub-project management)
    Christina Kühnhauser (contact)

Practice

Publications

Navigation überspringen
  1. Sie sind hier:
  2. XR-Part

XR-Part

XR-Partizipationsräume zur erweiterten sozialen Teilhabe in urbanen Transformationsprozessen

Bürger:innen in Stadtplanungsprozessen mit Hilfe von XR-Technologien beteiligen und Teilhabe erweitern

Soziale Teilhabe in urbanen Transformationsprozessen findet in vielen Kommunen bereits durch crossmediale Partizipationsangebote statt. Trotz der vielfältigen Kanäle durch Crossmedialisierung werden jedoch immer noch viele Menschen von der Teilhabe ausgeschlossen oder nicht ausreichend erreicht. Angebotene Beteiligungsräume vor Ort oder im Netz werden entweder als zu wenig attraktiv und zugänglich oder als zu brüchig wahrgenommen. XR-Part soll diese bisherigen raumzeitlichen und medialen Brüche in Kooperation verschiedener gesellschaftlicher Akteure abbauen und durch die Verknüpfung bisher isolierter Möglichkeiten zur Interaktion eine qualitative Weiterentwicklung in der Bürgerbeteiligung realisieren. Das transdisziplinäre Verbundforschungsprojekt XR-Part entwickelt ein integratives XR-System unterschiedlicher VR- und AR-Lösungen zu einer gemeinsamen XR-Plattform (XR: Extended-Reality), die in partizipativen Planungsverfahren Anwendung finden kann. Erprobt wird dieser innovative Ansatz in den Modellstädten Rostock und Mannheim im Rahmen von städtischen Planungsprozessen.

Fördermittelgeber: Drittmittel-Forschungsprojekt des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Projektträger: VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH

Laufzeit: 09.2021 bis 09.2024

Bild

In Zukunft mit XR-Technologien

Innovation in Partizipation integrieren

Herausfordernd: Potentiale VR- und AR-Technologien für Qualitäten der Partizipation unter Beachtung ethischer, rechtlicher, sozialer Aspekte nutzen.

Über das Projekt

Im Verbundforschungsprojekt XR-Part werden sowohl technische Innovationen als auch Prozessinnovationen für soziale Teilhabe am Beispiel städtischer, digital gestützter Partizipationsverfahren in stadtplanerischen Vorhaben weiterentwickelt, miteinander verknüpft, erprobt und evaluiert.

XR-Part soll in einer Extended-Reality (XR)-Plattform verschiedene Virtual- und Augmented Reality-Lösungen zu einem System verbinden, das sich aus drei Komponenten zusammensetzt: (1) einem dreidimensionalen virtuellen Erlebnis- und Begegnungsraum für temporäre kollaborative Veranstaltungen zu beliebigen Zeitpunkten, (2) einer Augmented Reality Anwendung, in der Planungsinhalte dreidimensional in Varianten betrachtet werden können und (3) einem Online-Beteiligungsangebot zur Unterstützung der Partizipation vor Ort. Planungen und Informationen zu urbanen Transformationsvorhaben werden damit zeit- und ortsunabhängig für den breiten dialogischen Austausch zugänglich. Das XR-System wird entlang konkreter städtischer Planungsprozesse mit den Partnerstädten Mannheim und Rostock sowie mit den Tandemstädten Bonn und Köln kooperativ erarbeitet. Es soll für partizipative Prozesse städtischer Planung in Kommunen verfügbar gemacht werden.

Ziele und Vorgehen im Forschungsprojekt XR-Part

Im Rahmen des Forschungsvorhabens sollen innovative XR-(Extended-Reality)-Partizipationsräume entwickelt werden, die soziale Teilhabe an gesellschaftlichen Entscheidungsprozessen quantitativ und qualitativ verbessern und sich in crossmediale partizipative Verfahren zu Stadtplanungsvorhaben integrieren lassen.

Folgendes Vorgehen ist vorgesehen: Das XR-System wird am Beispiel mehrerer konkreter städtischer Partizipationsprozesse in einem nutzerzentrierten, interaktiven Entwicklungsprozess konzipiert, entwickelt, erprobt und evaluiert. Sowohl Prozesse moderner städtischer Planung als auch der Soft- und Hardware-Entwicklung folgen einem iterativen Ablauf, bei dem Arbeitsschritte der Konzeption, Entwicklung, Erprobung und Evaluation mehrfach durchlaufen werden. Das Verbundforschungsprojekt XR-Part verläuft also in einem solchen iterativen Prozess.

Zu Beginn des Prozesses wird der aktuelle Stand der Wissenschaft und Technik der beteiligten Disziplinen aufgearbeitet, kategorisiert und für die weitere Arbeit verfügbar gemacht. Die anschließenden Arbeitsphasen der Konzeption und Entwicklung technischer XR-Lösungen laufen parallel zur partizipativen Entwicklung nutzerzentrierte Qualitätsstandards digital gestützte Bürgerbeteiligung. Zentraler Aspekt wird dabei der regelmäßige Austausch im Projektteam zu Anforderungen und Lösungen technischer und prozessualer Lösungen sein. Am Ende dieser Arbeitsphase steht ein erster Prototyp der XR-Plattform und Qualitätskriterien für eine nachhaltige digitale Bürgerbeteiligung.

In einer nächsten Phase werden diese Lösungen hinsichtlich ihrer Bedienbarkeit (Usability) und dem Mehrwert für Bürgerbeteiligung anhand konkreter Planungsvorhaben in den Städten Mannheim und Rostock erprobt und evaluiert. Die Erprobung der Lösungen wird anhand partizipativer Planungsprozesse zeitlich versetzt je Modellstadt zweimal erfolgen. Dies ermöglicht die Anpassung der entwickelten Lösungen an die tatsächlichen Bedarfe im Rahmen von urbanen Beteiligungsprozessen. Ziel ist es, die Prototypen der vorangegangen Arbeitsphase zu testen, fortlaufend zu verbessern und schließlich eine anwendbare Lösung entwickelt zu haben.

Die umrahmende Projektkoordination sowie der Transfer des Wissens in Wissenschaft und Praxis stellen jeweils weitere Arbeitspaket dar.

Innovationsansatz des Projektes

Der Innovationsansatz des Projektes liegt in einer integrativen Betrachtung der Mensch-Technik-Interaktion in virtuellen und realen Räumen. Dabei sollen technische Lösungen der XR, die bisher meist als unabhängig voneinander stehende Insellösungen bestanden, (weiter)-entwickelt, miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt (technische Innovation) und schließlich für die Partizipation in städtischen Planungsprozessen verfügbar gemacht sowie anhand konkreter Planungsvorhaben integriert erprobt werden (Prozessinnovation).

Im Zentrum der geplanten Entwicklungen steht eine Hard- und Software-Plattform, die die Informationsaufnahme, Visualisierung, Kommunikation und Kooperation sowie das Erproben von Planungen städtischer Transformationsprozesse in raum-zeitlicher Unabhängigkeit ermöglichen soll. Es wird angestrebt, die XR-Plattform als web-basierte Lösung zu entwickeln, um durch leichte Zugänglichkeit die digitale Spaltung der Nutzergruppen zu verhindern. XR-Technologien bieten dabei ideale Voraussetzungen um:

  1. Menschen zusammenbringen zu können und

  2. Planungen für einen realen Stadtraum vor Ort – also im Kontext und der Lebenswelt der Bürger:innen verständlich darstellen und gemeinsam entwickeln zu können.

Die XR-Plattform integriert daher zwei Formen innerhalb des bekannten Reality-Virtuality Continuum:

  1. Augmented Virtuality: Menschen agieren miteinander in virtuellen Räumen

  2. Augmented Reality: Virtuelle Objekte (hier besonders: Gebäude, Stadtmöbel, Straßen, Bäume) werden im realen Stadtraum erlebbar.

Interaktion in virtuellen Räumen (Augmented Virtuality) soll dabei von jedem beliebigen physischen Ort mit dem eigenen Gerät erfolgen können. Virtuelle Räume zielen auf die Erhöhung der Teilnehmerzahl in kollaborativen Umgebungen, die Entwicklung neuer Beteiligungsformate in virtuellen Räumen, der Integration komplexer Planungsinhalte, der Schaffung neuer Visualisierungs- und Interaktionsformen sowie der einfachen und angenehmen Nutzung der Technologie für unterschiedliche Zielgruppen.

Beim Ansatz der Augmented Reality, soll wiederum städtische Planung im physischen Raum erlebbar gemacht werden, indem digitale Elemente im Raum persistent verortet werden. Diese Elemente können Visualisierungen von Planungsentwürfen der Verwaltungen oder zuvor in virtuellen Räumen erzeugte digitale Gegenstände darstellen. Sie sollen nicht als Teil des technischen Gerätes, sondern als Element des physischen Raumes wahrgenommen werden.

Mit diesen Lösungen sollen bisher in Planungsprozessen kaum oder unerreichte Zielgruppen angesprochen werden können, Visionen und Ideen räumlicher Veränderungen erlebbar und veranschaulicht, das Experimentieren im Raum vereinfacht und schließlich nachhaltige Lernprozesse ermöglicht werden.

Aufgabenfelder

Aufgabenfelder des Verbundforschungsprojekt XR-Part sind:

  • Erarbeitung neuer Erkenntnisse zum Einsatz von XR-Technologien in Partizipationsprozessen

  • Verbesserung der Einbindung möglichst vieler Bevölkerungsgruppen in städtische Transformationsprozesse durch die entwickelte XR-Partizipationsplattform

  • Entwicklung und Transfer übertragbarer Evaluationsergebnisse für eine technologisch-basierte Erweiterung der Beteiligungspraxis bei städtischen Planungsprozessen in Wissenschaft und Praxis.

Wissenschaftliche Beiträge

  • Erarbeitung eines Anforderungskataloges für die XR-Partizipationsplattform
    Mithilfe der bestehenden Leitlinien zur Bürgerbeteiligung der Modell- und Tandemstädte, Mannheim und Rostock sowie Bonn und Köln, werden die Qualitätsstandards und nutzerorientierte Anforderungen an die XR-Plattform weiterentwickelt.
     
  • Erarbeitung, Erprobung und Evaluation der XR-Partizipationsplattform anhand von Fallstudien in den Modellstädten Mannheim und Rostock
    Die entwickelte XR-Plattform wird anhand von ausgewählten partizipativen Stadtplanungsprozessen erprobt und weiterqualifiziert. Mit Hilfe qualitativer und quantitativer Methoden werden die Perspektiven der Nutzenden erfasst und ausgewertet, u.a. hinsichtlich Potentialen und Grenzen sozialer Interaktionen und Kollaborationen innerhalb und mit XR-Technologien. Zudem werden neue Erkenntnisse zur verbesserten Teilhabe der Bürger:innen in städtischen Planungs-prozessen und zur Identifizierung innovativer Interaktionsmöglichkeiten sowohl zwischen den am Prozess beteiligten Akteure als auch zwischen den Menschen und ihrer räumlichen Umgebung erwartet.
     
  • Transfer in Wissenschaft und Praxis
    Die entwickelten Ansätze sollen den am Forschungsprojekt beteiligten Tandemstädte Köln und Bonn für die weitere Erprobung verfügbar gemacht werden. Zudem erfolgt durch eine bundesweite Fachtagung der Wissens- und Erfahrungstransfer für interessierte weitere Städte sowie für weitere Interessierte aus Wissenschaft und Praxis.

Projektteam Wissenschaft

Fachhochschule Erfurt

Verbundkoordination und Projektleitung

Prof.in Dr.-Ing. Heidi Sinning

Institutsleiterin Institut für Stadtforschung, Planung und Kommunikation (ISP)

Zur Person
Teilprojektleitung

Prof.in Yvonne Brandenburger

Professur für Gebäudeentwurf und Bauplanung

Zur Person
Teilprojektleitung

Prof. Rolf Kruse

Professor für Digitale Medien und Gestaltung

Zur Person
wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Sebastian Damek

Professur Gebäudeentwurf und Bauplanung

Zur Person
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Julia Semialjac

Projektpartner

Wirtschaft

  • TriCAT GmbH
    Dr. Gregor Mehlmann
    (Teilprojektleitung)

    Markus Herkersdorf
    Felix Gaisbauer
    Lena Schuler 
     
  • Zebralog GmbH 
    Dr. Sarah Ginski (Kontakt)
    (Teilprojektleitung)
    Christina Kühnhauser (Kontakt)
    ​​​​​​​
  • Inpixon HQ
    Darius Pajouh
    (Teilprojektleitung)

    Patrick Reipschläger

Praxis